Thinkspace celebrating 15th anniversary

Thinkspace Projects presents: ’15 YEARS OF THINKSPACE’

Thinkspace celebrating 15th anniversary

Thinkspace Projects presents:

’15 Years of Thinkspace’

Celebrating our 15th Anniversary

Opening Reception: Saturday, January 11 from 6-9PM

On view January 11 – January 25, 2020

6009 Washington Blvd, Culver City 90232

Thinkspace was founded in 2005; now in LA’s Culver City Arts District, the gallery has garnered an international reputation as one of the most active and productive exponents of the New Contemporary Art Movement. Maintaining its founding commitment to the promotion and support of its artists, Thinkspace has steadily expanded its roster and diversified its projects, creating collaborative and institutional opportunities all over the world. Founded in the spirit of forging recognition for young, emerging, and lesser-known talents, the gallery is now home to artists from all over the world, ranging from the emerging, mid-career, and established.

The New Contemporary Art Movement, not unlike its earlier 20th Century counterparts like Surrealism, Dada, or Fauvism, ultimately materialized in search of new forms, content, and expressions that cited rather than disavowed the individual and the social. The earliest incarnations of the Movement, refusing the paradigmatic disinterest of “Art” as an inaccessible garrison of ‘high culture’, championed figuration, surrealism, representation, pop culture, and the subcultural. By incorporating the ‘lowbrow,’ accessible, and even profane, an exciting and irreverent art movement grew in defiance of the mandated renunciations of “high” art. Emerging on the West Coast in the 90’s partly as a response to the rabid ‘conceptual-turn’ then championed on the East Coasts, the Movement steadily created its own platforms, publications, and spaces for the dissemination of its imagery and ideas.

Though the New Contemporary Art Movement has remained largely unacknowledged by the vetted institutions of the fine art world and its arbiters of ‘high culture,’ the future promises a shift. The Movement’s formative aversion to the establishment is also waning in the wake of its increased visibility, institutional presence, and widespread popularity.

Thinkspace has sought to champion and promote the unique breadth of the Movement, creating new opportunities for the presentation of its artists and work. Though still very much invested in the elevation and exposure of its emerging talents, the gallery, now in its 13th year, has come into its own with a roster that reflects this maturity. An active advocate for what is now one of the longest extant organized art movement’s in history, Thinkspace is an established voice for its continued growth and evolution.

The gallery has in recent years expanded its projects beyond Los Angeles, exhibiting with partner galleries and organizations in Berlin, Hong Kong, London, New York City, Detroit, Chicago, and Honolulu among many others, participating in International Art Fairs, and curating New Contemporary content for Museums. Committed to the vision, risk, and exceptional gifts of its artists, the gallery is first and foremost a family. From the streets to the museums, and from the “margins” to the white cube, Thinkspace is re-envisioning what it means to be “institutional.”

Featuring 15×15 inch works on custom wood panels from Trekell Art Supplies:
Aaron Nagel
Adam Caldwell
Alex Garant
Allison Simmers
Alvaro Naddeo
Amy Sol
Andrew Hem
Anthony Clarkson
Brendan Monroe
Brian Mashburn
Brian Viveros
Carlos Ramirez
Casey Weldon
Cinta Vidal
Craig ‘Skibs’ Barker
David Cooley
Fintan Magee
Frank Gonzales
Fuco Ueda
Hilda Palafox (aka Poni)
Huntz Liu
Jacub Gagnon
James Bullough
Jeremy Geddes
Jolene Lai
Josie Morway
Kaili Smith
Kathy Ager
Kayla Mahaffey
Kelly Vivanco
Ken Flewellyn
Kevin Peterson
Kisung Koh
Laura Berger
Leon Keer
Linsey Levendall
Lisa Ericson
Liz Brizzi
Marco Mazzoni
Mark Dean Veca
Matthew Grabelsky
Max Sansing
Michael Reeder
Nuno Viegas
The Perez Bros
Roby Dwi Antono
Roos van der Vliet
Sandra Chevrier
Sarah Joncas
Scott Listfield
Sean Mahan
Seth Armstrong
Spenser Little
Stella Im Hultberg
Stephanie Buer
Super A
Telmo Miel
Tran Nguyen
Wiley Wallace
Yosuke Ueno